Introduction
Indications
Surgeon/patient understanding
Complications
Review of the literature
Results
Standard prostheses
Custom prostheses
 

Factors that make A difference

1. Fixing

Modern fixation involves fixation without cement. Cement was a type of fixation that gave prostheses good results initially. The technique of fixation without cement is more respectful of bone biology, and it appears to enable the prosthesis to support greater stresses over a longer period of time.

2. Wear

Wear is the principle cause of prosthesis failure. The characteristics of the materials used for friction couples are critical. Polyethylene should be avoided at all costs for active patients, as it produces wear debris that can cause an inflammatory reaction of the tissues leading to the disappearance (resorption) of the bone around the prosthesis. This situation may require a revision operation.

3. Dislocation

This is a debilitating complication of hip replacement and, if it recurs several times, it may be necessary to revise the prosthesis. Dislocation represents the second most common cause of a revision procedure. There are several solutions for minimising the risk of dislocation, and they can be applied simultaneously:

- implants designed to reduce dislocation
- good geometrical surgical reconstruction
- correct positioning of implants
- operative technique 

4. Legs of unequal length

Legs of unequal length cause limping and possibly back pain. The problem can be compensated for by a heel raise placed in each pair of shoes. This problem can be avoided however through:

- pre-operative planning
- good geometrical surgical reconstruction of the joint
- use of a modular neck stem or, in some cases,
  a custom prosthesis

Einleitung
Indikationen
Vertrag zwischen
Chirurg und Patient
Die Komplikationen
Konsens der Literatur
Ergebnisse
Standardprothesen
Custom-Made – Prothesen
nach Maß
 

FAKTOREN, AUF DIE ES ANKOMMT

1. Die Verankerung

Das Zementieren ist ein Fixationsverfahren, das unmittelbar postoperativ belastbare Ergebnisse bringt. Die moderne Verankerung jedoch ist die zementfreie Fixation. Die zementfreie Technik berücksichtigt die biologischen Gegebenheiten des Knochens. Es zeichnet sich ab, dass zementfreie Versorgungen größeren Belastungen über einen längeren Zeitraum besser standhalten.

2. Verschleiß

Verschleiß ist die erste Ursache für einen Prothesenwechsel. Entscheidend dafür sind die für die Gleitpaarung verwendeten Materialien. Polyethylen ist bei aktiven Patienten in jedem Fall zu vermeiden. Es verursacht Abrieb, der eine entzündliche Reaktion des Gewebes verursachen und zum Abbau des Knochens rund um die Prothese führen kann. Diese Situation kann einen Prothesenwechsel zur Folge haben.

3. Luxation

Sie ist äußerst schädigend und kann, wenn sie mehrmals auftritt, den Wechsel der Prothese notwendig machen. Innerhalb der klinischen Ergebnisse ist das die zweithäufigste Ursache für einen Prothesenwechsel. Es gibt mehrere gleichzeitig anwendbare Möglichkeiten, um dieses Risiko weitgehend herabzumindern:

- Implantate, die das Luxationsrisiko vermindern
- eine optimale geometrische Rekonstruktion
- eine präzise Positionierung der Implantate
- eine adäquate Operationstechnik

4. Ungleiche Beinlänge

Eine ungleiche Beinlänge verursacht Hinken und eventuell Rückenschmerzen. Sie kann durch eine Ferseneinlage ausgeglichen werden, die in jeden Schuh eingelegt wird. Vermeiden lässt sich Beinlängendifferenz durch:

- eine sorgfältige präoperative Planung
- eine optimale geometrische Rekonstruktion des Gelenks
- einen Schaft mit modularem Schenkelhals oder in manchen
  Fällen eine Prothese nach Maß.