Introduction
Indications
Surgeon/patient understanding
Complications
Review of the literature
Results
Standard prostheses
Custom prostheses

IMMEDIATE POST-OPERATIVE COMPLICATIONS

The implantation of a hip prosthesis requires a technically demanding surgical procedure. The possible complications are described by order of severity. In the Results section, they are listed by order of frequency. This list is not an exhaustive one.

1. Phlebitis

A vein in the operated lower limb (leg) or in the other leg may become inflamed causing the formation of a blood clot. The most serious complication is a pulmonary embolism. The surgeon's attitude will be oriented to prevention: - prescription of anticoagulants - making the patient get up from bed as soon as possible after the operation to decrease the risk.

2. Infection

Although rare, the penetration of foreign organisms into the patient's body during and after the operation may lead to an infection around the prosthesis. Infection may require a revision operation associated with the administration of antibiotics to the vicinity of the prosthesis. The surgeon will also prescribe a preventive antibiotic treatment if necessary. The surgeon and all the other health care personnel involved pay great attention to the prevention of infection and the catastrophic consequences of its onset

3. Dislocation

Dislocation occurs when the prosthesis comes out of its seat in the pelvis. It causes sharp pains and needs to be treated urgently. Its prevention is one of the surgeon's major concerns.

4. Legs of unequal length

It may happen that the prosthesis does not reproduce the patient's anatomy perfectly. In this case, the length of the operated leg may be modified. Most often, this involves a lengthening, which can cause limping, as well as back pain.

5. Nerve lesion

During a complex operation, a lesion of the sciatic nerve or another nerve may occur, but this is rare. However, this complication is serious and requires appropriate treatment and a long period of recuperation.

6. Prior medical conditions

All operations involve a risk, which differs according to the age and severity of the pathology. The state of health of some patients can also increase the risk of complications. The following conditions have been described:

- arterial hypertension (high blood pressure)
- diabetes
- respiratory disorders (allergies,...)
- osteoporosis
- tobacco addiction
- alcohol
- associated pathologies

Introduction
Indications
Contrat chirugien/patient
Complications
Consensus de la littérature
Résultats
Prothèses standard
Prothèses Custom
sur mesure

Les complications postopÉratoires immÉdiates

La mise en place d'une prothèse de hanche représente une intervention importante sur le corps du patient. Les complications sont citées par ordre de sévérité. Dans la rubrique résultats, elles apparaissent par ordre de fréquence. Cette énumération n'est pas exhaustive.

1. La phlébite

Une veine du membre inférieur opéré (jambe) ou de l'autre jambe peut s'enflammer et provoquer la formation d'un caillot de sang. La complication majeure peut être l'embolie pulmonaire. Le chirurgien aura une attitude dictée par la prévention : - prescription d'anticoagulants - levé du patient le plus vite possible après l'opération pour diminuer le risque.

2. L'infection

La pénétration d'organismes étrangers dans le corps du patient pendant et après l'opération peut créer une infection autour de la prothèse. Celle-ci peut entraîner des conséquences graves allant de la réintervention associée à l'administration d'antibiotiques jusqu'à l'ablation de la prothèse. Le chirurgien prescrira une antibiothérapie préventive si nécessaire. Le chirurgien et l'ensemble de l'établissement de soins portent une grande attention afin de prévenir cette situation.

3. La luxation

La luxation se produit lorsque la prothèse sort de son logement prévu dans le bassin. Elle provoque des douleurs aiguës et doit être traitée d'urgence. Sa prévention est une préoccupation majeure du chirurgien.

4. L'inégalité de longueur de jambe

Il se peut que la prothèse ne reproduise pas parfaitement l'anatomie du patient. Dans ce cas, la longueur de la jambe opérée pourra être modifiée. Le plus souvent, il s'agit d'un rallongement qui peut provoquer une boiterie, ainsi que des douleurs dorsales.

5. La lésion nerveuse

Lors d'opération complexe, la lésion du nerf sciatique ou d'un autre nerf peut arriver, mais elle est rare. Cependant, cette complication est grave est demande un traitement adapté et une longue période de récupération.

6. Les antécédents

Toute opération comporte un risque. Celui-ci diffère en fonction de l'âge et de la sévérité de la pathologie. L'état de santé de certains patients peut aussi contribuer à augmenter le risque de complications. On décrit :

- l'hypertension artérielle
- le diabète
- les affections respiratoires (allergies, ...)
- l'ostéoporose
- le tabagisme
- l'alcool
- les pathologies associées