Introduction
Indications
Surgeon/patient understanding
Complications
Review of the literature
Results
Standard prostheses
Custom prostheses
 

Factors that make A difference

1. Fixing

Modern fixation involves fixation without cement. Cement was a type of fixation that gave prostheses good results initially. The technique of fixation without cement is more respectful of bone biology, and it appears to enable the prosthesis to support greater stresses over a longer period of time.

2. Wear

Wear is the principle cause of prosthesis failure. The characteristics of the materials used for friction couples are critical. Polyethylene should be avoided at all costs for active patients, as it produces wear debris that can cause an inflammatory reaction of the tissues leading to the disappearance (resorption) of the bone around the prosthesis. This situation may require a revision operation.

3. Dislocation

This is a debilitating complication of hip replacement and, if it recurs several times, it may be necessary to revise the prosthesis. Dislocation represents the second most common cause of a revision procedure. There are several solutions for minimising the risk of dislocation, and they can be applied simultaneously:

- implants designed to reduce dislocation
- good geometrical surgical reconstruction
- correct positioning of implants
- operative technique 

4. Legs of unequal length

Legs of unequal length cause limping and possibly back pain. The problem can be compensated for by a heel raise placed in each pair of shoes. This problem can be avoided however through:

- pre-operative planning
- good geometrical surgical reconstruction of the joint
- use of a modular neck stem or, in some cases,
  a custom prosthesis

Introduction
Indications
Contrat chirugien/patient
Complications
Consensus de la littérature
Résultats
Prothèses standard
Prothèses Custom
sur mesure
 

Les facteurs qui font la diffÉrence

1. La fixation

La fixation moderne est la fixation sans ciment. Le ciment est une fixation qui a donné à la prothèse ses premiers bons résultats. La technique du sans ciment est plus respectueuse de la biologie de l'os et il semble qu'elle permette de supporter des contraintes plus grandes pendant une plus longue période.

2. L'usure

L'usure est la première cause de changement des prothèses. Les matériaux utilisés pour le couple de frottement sont essentiels. le polyéthylène est à éviter à tout prix pour les patients actifs. Il génère des débris d'usure qui peuvent créer une réaction inflammatoire des tissus qui provoque la disparition de l'os autour de la prothèse. Cette situation peut conduire au changement de la prothèse.

3. La luxation

Elle est très pénalisante et lorsqu'elle se reproduit plusieurs fois, elle peut nécessiter le changement de la prothèse. Dans les résultats cliniques, elle représente la deuxième cause de changement des prothèses. Il existe plusieurs moyens de minimiser le risque, qui peuvent être utilisés simultanément :

- des implants réduisant la luxation
- une bonne reconstruction géométrique
- un bon positionnement des implants
- une technique opératoire

4. L'inégalité de longueur de jambe

L'inégalité de longueur engendre une boiterie et éventuellement des douleurs dorsales. Elle peut être compensée par une talonnette qu'on ajoute dans chacune des paires de chaussures. Les moyens pour éviter ce désagrément sont :

- une planification pré-opératoire
- une bonne reconstruction géométrique de l'articulation
- une tige à col modulaire ou dans quelques cas une prothèse
  sur mesure