Introduction
Indications
Surgeon/patient understanding
Complications
Review of the literature
Results
Standard prostheses
Custom prostheses

Indications

A hip replacement is indicated in those cases in which the quality of life of the patient has severely deteriorated. He/she feels pain that causes considerable disruption to everyday life. Faced with this serious problem, the patient will sooner or later decide to consult a doctor. Several different situations then present requiring the implantation of a hip prosthesis.

1. Simple prosthesis


The prosthesis is considered simple if the patient's anatomy is normal. The patient suffers from osteoarthritis, that is to say cartilage wear, but the anatomy of his/her pelvis and thighbone is normal. Moreover, he/she has not undergone a previous surgical operation on the hip or pelvis. This is the most frequent case.

2. Complex prosthesis


A hip prosthesis is considered complex if the patient's anatomy is not normal. This may be due either to a congenital deformity (dysplasia or congenital dislocation) or to a modification of the thighbone or pelvis during the patient's life (fracture, previous surgical operation).

3. Change (revision) of hip prosthesis

This surgical operation is often complex, the outcomes uncertain.. The surgeon needs to change (revise) the implants already fitted. The rate of complication is high. So, everything must be done during the first (primary) operation to avoid the need to re-operate.

Introduction
Indications
Contrat chirugien/patient
Complications
Consensus de la littérature
Résultats
Prothèses standard
Prothèses Custom
sur mesure

Indications

Une prothèse de hanche est indiquée lorsque la qualité de vie du patient est extrêmement perturbée. Il doit avoir des douleurs qui provoquent une forte gêne dans la vie de tous les jours. Face à cette gêne majeure, le patient va décider de consulter un médecin. Il existe plusieurs situations différentes qui requièrent la mise en place d'une prothèse de hanche.

1. Prothèse simple


La prothèse est simple lorsque l'anatomie du patient est normale. Le patient souffre d'une arthrose, c'est à dire une usure des cartilages, mais l'anatomie de son bassin et de son fémur sont normales. Il n'a pas subit d'intervention chirurgicale antérieure sur sa hanche ou son bassin. C'est le cas le plus fréquent.

2. Prothèse complexe


Une prothèse de hanche est complexe lorsque l'anatomie du patient est anormale. Ceci peut être dû à une difformité congénitale (dysplasie ou luxation congénitale) ou à une modification du fémur ou du bassin au cours de la vie du patient (fracture, intervention chirurgicale précédente).

3. Changement de prothèse de hanche

Intervention chirurgicale souvent complexe et invalidante. Le chirurgien doit changer les implants déjà en place. Le taux de complications est élevé. Tout doit être entrepris à la première opération pour ne pas être obligé de réopérer.